Academic Calendar 2015-2016

Sunday 23 August 2015 – Thursday 30 June 2016

Fall Semester 2015 Sun 23 Aug – Thu 17 Dec 2015
Faculty report Wed 12 Aug 2015
Classes start Sun 23 Aug 2015
Last day for supplemental assessments (from previous semester) Thu 27 Aug 2015
Last day to add courses Thu 03 Sep 2015
Last day to drop courses Thu 10 Sep 2015
Last day to withdraw from a semester length course without penalty Sun 18 Oct 2015
Last day to submit appeal for reinstatement after academic dismissal for Spring 2016 Thu 26 Nov 2015
Last day of classes Thu 10 Dec 2015
Assessment period Sat 12 – Thu 17 Dec 2015
Announcement of final grades and Academic Standing Wed 23 Dec 2015
Semester break for students Sun 20 Dec 2015 – Thu 7 Jan 2016
(Classes start Sun 10 Jan)
Semester break for Faculty Tue 22 Dec 2015 – Mon 4 Jan 2016
(Faculty report Tue 5 Jan)
Professional development days Tue 5 Jan – Thu 7 Jan 2016
Spring Semester 2016 Sun 10 Jan – Thu 12 May 2016
Faculty report Tue 5 Jan 2016
Classes start Sun 10 Jan 2016
Last day for supplemental assessments (from previous semester) Thu 14 Jan 2016
Last day to add courses Thu 21 Jan 2016
Last day to drop courses Thu 28 Jan 2016
Last day to withdraw from a semester length course without penalty Thu 3 Mar 2016
Last day to submit appeal for reinstatement after academic dismissal for Summer 1 2016 Wed 30 Mar 2016
Last day of classes Thu 5 May 2016
Assessment period Sat 7 – Thu 12 May 2016
Announcement of final grades and Academic Standing Thu 19 May 2016
Semester break for students Sun 27 Mar – Thu 7 Apr 2016
(Classes start Sun 10 Apr)
Semester break for Faculty Sun 27 – Thu 31 Mar 2016
(Faculty report Sun 3 Apr)
Professional development days Sun 3 – Thu 7 Apr 2016
Summer Semester I 2016* Sun 22 May – Thu 30 Jun 2016
Classes start Sun 22 May 2016
Last day for supplemental assessments (from previous semester) Thu 26 May 2016
Last day to add courses Wed 25 May 2016
Last day to drop courses Sun 29 May 2016
Last day to withdraw from a semester length course without penalty Mon 6 Jun 2016
Last day of classes Tue 28 Jun 2016
Assessment period Wed 29 – Thu 30 Jun 2016
Announcement of final grades and Academic Standing Thu 7 Jul 2016
Summer Semester II 2016 Sun 10 Jul – Mon 15 Aug 2016
Classes start Sun 10 Jul 2016
Last day to add courses Wed 13 Jul 2016
Last day to drop courses Sun 17 Jul 2016
Last day to withdraw from a semester length course without penalty Wed 27 Jul 2016
Last day to submit appeal for reinstatement after academic dismissal for Fall 2016 Thu 28 July 2016
Last day of classes Thu 11 Aug 2016
Assessment period Sun 14 – Mon 15 Aug 2016
Announcement of final grades and Academic Standing Thu 25 Aug 2016
Semester break for students Sun 3 Jul – Thu 18 Aug 2016
(Classes start Sun 21 Aug)
Semester break for Faculty Sun 3 Jul – Thu 11 Aug 2016
(Faculty report Sun 14 Aug)
Professional development days Tue 16 – Thu 18 Aug 2016

*All Faculty and Staff are on Duty for Summer Semester 1

Open Calendar in ICS/iCal format

Religious and Public Holidays**

Arafat Day Tue 22 Sep 2015
Eid Al-Adha Wed 23 to Fri 25 Sep 2015
Islamic New Year Thu 15 Oct 2015
National Day Wed 2 and Thu 3 Dec 2015
Prophet’s Birthday Thu 24 Dec 2015
Isra Wal Miraj Thu 5 May 2016
Eid al-Fitr Wed 6 and Thu 7 Jul 2016

**Religious holidays are subject to confirmation

Notes on Academic Calendar

  • The HCT will officially announce closure on a Religious and/or Public holiday to students and staff.
  • Ramadan and Religious Holidays are based on confirmation of the official Hijra Calendar from the Ministry of Justice & Islamic Affairs.
  • The off-duty days for Faculty are based on the Academic Calendar published prior to the start of the Academic Year.

Feedback